Chai Sweet Potato Muffins

For Erin’s first day of school I got up early and was pretty ambitious.  Make a quick pesto chicken salad while baking sweet potato muffins for her lunch!  Crazy!  But I got it done with time to spare even though it was my first rodeo with  the sweet potato muffins.  I followed a recipe from PaleOMG for Sweet Potato Chai Muffins and changed it up a little bit.  Her recipe calls for a few things I forgot or didn’t have on hand – bananas, cinnamon, coconut nectar and baking soda.  With a few substitutions, I still had them in the oven in about 10 minutes.  I also measured the amount of sweet potato I used in a measuring cup so I could duplicate my results in the future.  I was pleasantly surprised at how much flavor the flax seed added to the recipe.

Chai Sweet Potato Muffins

Chai Sweet Potato Muffins

Chai Sweet Potato Muffins

  • Servings: 12-14 muffins
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2 small or 1 large sweet potato to yield 1.5 cups cooked sweet potato
  • 1 medium pear ( I used a very ripe bosc pear) or apple peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed
  • 2 bags unsweetened chai tea
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 3 tsp maple syrup (optional)
  • 1/3 cup melted coconut oil or grass fed butter (tastes great with either)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Directions

  1. Microwave your sweet potato wrapped in a slightly damp paper towel on the ‘Potato’ setting on your microwave.  Almost every microwave has this setting I think it cooks them for about 4-5 minutes or use already baked sweet potatoes.
  2. Heat your oven to 375 degrees.
  3. In a food processor pulse the cooked sweet potato with your pear or apple.  You may have to scrape the sides down a few times to get it pureed.  PaleOMG uses a banana so whatever you have on hand that is ripe!
  4. Add your flax seed, chai tea leaves, vanilla, salt, syrup, melted fat, eggs and baking powder and soda.  Process the mixture scraping the sides down a few times.
  5. Add your chopped nuts if desired.  Of course skip these if there are nut allergy rules at your school.
  6. Scoop your mixture into 12 paper lined muffins.  I use 2.25″ silicon muffin cups.
  7. Bake for 25 minutes.  Muffins are done when a knife or fork comes out fairly clean.

If you have more than two children I recommend doubling this recipe.  It sold out by 10 am in my house two mornings in a row!

 

Leave a Reply

